Bad Reviews: Learn To Live With Them

I must say this was truly inspirational. I know that’s one of my hardest parts about writing. Will anyone like this when I’m done? Sometimes I write some really controversial stuff so it’s going to happen one day. I hope that day’s far away and I have a great support system behind me!

Christopher Stocking

Having my work published means that I am, at any given time, susceptible to bad reviews. Whether someone thinks my writing it just plain awful, or maybe it is just bad. Either way, it can happen to anyone at any time. It even happens to the “great” authors.

Whilst taking a break from editing Project Oliver (Which is still nameless!), I was scrolling through my Facebook news feed and happened upon a post from Anne Rice, who actively contributes to her fan page (I wish she would post more writing-related things, but that’s beside the point). Now, when I think of Anne Rice, I think of Vampires, Lestat, and how much I enjoyed her book “Interview with the Vampire.” Hopefully I’ll get around to finishing that entire series someday. But of course not everyone feels the same way I do. In fact, Ms. Rice posted this on her fan page today:

View original post 175 more words

5 thoughts on “Bad Reviews: Learn To Live With Them

  1. Thank for the reblog!

    The writing community is so strong and supportive that even when those bad reviews do show their evil faces, you have so many people helping you through it. Good luck! 🙂

    • You’re welcome! It was great advice. Yes I’ll go cry on someone’s shoulder then print out the review twice, rip up one copy then set fire to it then use the other to inspire me to work harder to make my stories great. 🙂

      • Right! One writer I know told me he was going to frame his first bad review and use it as inspiration. I think that is a fantastic idea. Not only does it help you to work harder, but it seems to be metaphorically throwing it back in the reviewer’s face by saying ‘I don’t care what you say, I’m a writer and I’m not going to stop.”

      • Exactly! I think I’ll use a cork board and pin them up. I had one person who critiqued my story tell me all about the gun I used in the story telling me this couldn’t be right and to do my research when I had handled the gun the night before sending it out and I know exactly how it worked.

      • Yeah reviews are a flawed way for people to judge a book. A lot of the people who gives bad reviews either
        A) Have no idea what they’re talking about (i.e. your gun situation).
        or B) Are reviewing a book that is outside the genre they like.

        People need to rely less on reviews when considering a book. They may be missing out on something they truly love just because they read a bad review that may or may not even be true.

Leave a Reply

